CHAPTER 3

MONETARY ENTITLEMENT

IN GENERAL

This chapter deals with the monetary requirements of state Ul laws, including work history, benefit
amounts, and the length of time during which an individual may receive Ul.

Although the states have developed many different ways to determine monetary entitlement to Ul, there
are also many similarities. This chapter discusses the following:

« The wages and employment needed in a “base period” to qualify.

« The period during which Ul may be collected, commonly called the “benefit year.”
« The amount payable for a week of total or partial unemployment.

« Dependents’ allowances.

«  Waiting periods.

«  The maximum amount of regular Ul an individual may receive in a benefit year.

Note: Information regarding deductible income provisions are located in the nonmonetary
eligibility chapter starting on page 5-38.

While most individuals are employed in the state in which they reside, many individuals regularly
commute to a different state to work, work in more than one state, or move to a different state to look for new
work when they become unemployed. The law of the state under which the individual claims Ul benefits
applies as it would for any other individual. Determinations on eligibility, disqualifications, and the amount and
duration of benefits are made by the state in which the wages were paid. However, the process by which these
individuals apply for Ul benefits may vary. (For example, the Interstate Benefit Payment Plan provides a
method of filing for Ul benefits in the state in which an individual has qualifying wages even though the
individual is not physically present in that state.)

Although this chapter analyzes monetary factors separately, the relationship among these factors is
complex. In comparing state laws, consideration often needs to be given to these relationships.
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BASE PERIOD AND BENEFIT YEAR

As previously stated, an individual's benefit rights are determined using wages and employment during
a period of time called the base period. Benefits may be paid during a period of time called the benefit year.
Individuals who exhaust their benefits before the end of a benefit year must wait until a new benefit year is
established before they can again draw benefits.

BENEFIT YEARS—The benefit year is a 1-year or 52-week period during which an individual may receive
benefits based on a previous period of employment. In all states, the beginning date of the benefit year depends
on when an individual first files a “valid claim,” meaning the individual meets minimal wage and employment
requirements. In most states, the benefit year begins with the week in which the valid claim is filed. Exceptions
are:

TABLE 3-1: WHEN BENEFIT YEAR BEGINS - OTHER THAN THE WEEK A FIRST CLAIM IS FILED

AR Benefit year begins with the first day of the quarter in which a claim is first filed. As a result, the benefit “year” ranges from
40 to 52 weeks.
NY Benefit year consists of 53 weeks beginning with the effective date of a valid claim.

BASE PERIODS—The base period is the time period during which wages earned and/or hours/weeks worked
are examined to determine an individual’s monetary entitlement to Ul. Almost all states use the first 4 of the
last 5 completed calendar quarters preceding the filing of the claim as their base period. Massachusetts uses the
four completed calendar quarters preceding the first day of the benefit year. Minnesota uses the last four
completed calendar quarters provided the effective date of the claim is not during the month immediately
following the fourth completed calendar quarter.

Because base period employment and/or earnings are an imperfect proxy for labor market attachment,
there are instances when individuals with labor market attachment are ineligible for Ul benefits. To address
this, some states developed expanded definitions of the base period.

Alternative Base Periods (ABP)—A base period consisting of the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar
quarters results in a lag of up to 6 months between the end of the base period and the date an individual becomes
unemployed/files a claim. As a result, the individual’s most recent work history is not used when making an
eligibility determination. For individuals failing to qualify under the regular base period, several states use an
ABP. For example, if the individual fails to qualify using wages and employment in the first 4 of the last 5
completed calendar quarters, then the state will use wages and employment in the last 4 completed calendar
quarters.

Extended Base Periods (EBP)—Several states allow individuals who have no wages in the current base period
to use older wages and employment under certain conditions. These conditions typically involve illness or
injury. For example, an individual who was injured on the job and who has collected individuals’ compensation
benefits may use wages and employment preceding the date of the individual’s injury to establish eligibility.
(Note that some state laws may describe these base periods as “alternative” base periods.)

The following table outlines the options states use in addition to the standard base period.
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TABLE 3-2: STATES WITH ALTERNATIVE AND EXTENDED BASE PERIODS

State ABP/EBP State ABP/EBP
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
AK | EBP: BP extended up to 4 quarters if claimant was AR EBP: Up to 4 quarters if individual has insufficient wages to
incapable of working during the greater part of a establish a claim because of a job-related injury for which the
quarter individual received individual’s compensation
EBP: Last 4 completed quarters following previous BP
when new BY overlaps preceding BY'; also, first 4 of
AZ last 5 complet'ed q“a.”er.s precedlng the week a CA | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
compensable industrial injury began if not qualified
under normal base period, if claim is filed within 2
years of beginning of disability
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
CO | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters CT
EBP: Last 4 completed quarters preceding sickness or disability-
DE | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters DC | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
GA | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters HI ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
APB: Last 4 completed quarters
EBP: An individual who experienced a temporary total
D disability may elect a BP of the first 4 of the last 5 IL EBP: BP extended up to 1 year if the claimant received
completed quarters preceding the disability if the temporary total disability under a workers’ compensation act or
individual filed a claim within 3 years of the disability occupational diseases act
and no longer than 6 months after the end of the
disability
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
IN EBP Up to 4 quarters preceding the last day the 1A EBP: BP extended 3 or more quarters if the individual received
individual was able to work , - h L -
workers’ compensation or weekly indemnity insurance benefits
for 3 or more quarters
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters EBP: BP extended up to 4 quarters, if an individual due to job-
KS KY related injury or if an individual who has received workers’
EBP: Last 4 completed quarters preceding the date of compensation files a Ul claim within 4 weeks after having
qualifying injury received workers’ compensation
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
EBP: BP extended up to 4 quarters if 1 quarter has .
13 been used in a previous determination, extend the BY MD | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
up to 1 week if there would otherwise be overlapping
of the same quarter in 2 consecutive BPs
ABP: Last 3 quarters, plus any weeks of work in
quarter in which claim is filed. (Individual may also
elect to use this ABP if it results in a 10% or more
MA increase in WBA) MI ABP: Last 4 completed quarters if individual fails to meet
EBP: BP extended to 52 weeks if claimant received qualifying wage requirements
compensation for temporary total disability under an
workers’ compensation law for more than 7 weeks in
BP
. 5 1
ABP: First 4 of last 5 completed quarters ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
Al EBP Upto4d quarters depend!ng on length of time an U EBP: Up to 4 quarters preceding the disability if the claim was
individual received compensation for temporary - o LI T
S ) - filed within 24 months from the date of the individual’s disability
disability under an workers’ compensation law
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
. EBP: Last 4 quarters preceding BY if 1 quarter has been used in
NE | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters AN a previous determination, extend the BY up to 1 week if there
would otherwise be overlapping of the same quarter in 2
consecutive BPs
ABP: BP may be one of two alternatives: (1) last 4 completed
NH | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters NJ quarters or (2) last 3 completed quarters, plus any weeks of work

in quarter in which claim is filed
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TABLE 3-2: STATES WITH ALTERNATIVE AND EXTENDED BASE PERIODS

State ABP/EBP State ABP/EBP
NM | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters NY | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
EBP: Up to 4 quarters, if individual has insufficient
NC | wages to establish a claim because of a job related OH | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
injury for which the individual received workers’
compensation
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
OK OR EBP: BP extended up to 4 quarters if the individual is disabled
EBP: 4 quarters prior to regular base period for the majority of a quarter. If the individual received worker’s
compensation, the base year can be extended up to 4 quarters
preceding the illness or injury.
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
EBP: Last 4 completed quarters immediately
preceding the date of the injury if the individual was EBP: Individual who received workers’ compensation and has
PA o , . . RI - - o
eligible for workers’ compensation during the requested reinstatement to a previous position that no longer
individual’s current BP exists is eligible to have base period determined as of the date of
the work related injury
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
EBP: Individual who received temporary total disability
SC | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters SD payments under an individuals’ compensation law may use a BP
of the first 4 of the last 5 completed quarters preceding the
disability, if a claim is filed within 24 months of the date the
disability was incurred
EBP: If an initial claim is filed within 24 months from the date
. an individuals’ illness or injury began or occurred, the BP will be
TN | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters S the first 4 of the last 5 completed quarters preceding the illness or
injury
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
EBP: First 4 of last 5 completed quarters prior to date
of illness/injury. Individual must have received .
ur temporary disability payments during normal BP, filed VA | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
initial claim no later than 90 days after release to work
and within 36 months of the date the injury/iliness
occurred.
ABP: One of two alternatives: (1) last 4 quarters or, if still
Vi ABP: Last 4 completed quarters VT | ineligible, (2) last 3 quarters plus any weeks of work in quarter in
which claim is filed
WA | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters WV | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters’
EBP: An individual who experienced a temporary total disability
under workers’ compensation may elect a BP of the last 4
Wi ABP: Last 4 completed quarters WY | completed quarters preceding the date of injury if the individual

filed a claim within 3 years of the date of injury and no longer
than 60 days after notice of the end of the disability

GENERAL NOTE: Information about various base periods used in MA and MN is located in paragraphs preceding this table.

L1 the claim has an effective date during the month immediately following the last completed calendar quarter, the base period is the first 4 of
the last 5 completed calendar quarters; however, the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters must be used if the claimant has more

wage credits in those quarters than in the last 4 completed quarters.

2To be eligible under ABP, must have total BPW of at least $2,200 and wages in at least 2 quarters.
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QUALIFYING WAGES OR EMPLOYMENT

All states require an individual to have earned a certain amount of wages or to have worked for a certain
period of time (or both) within the base period to be monetarily eligible to receive any Ul benefits. Most
individuals qualify for benefits based on employment and wages in a single state. However, some individuals
who work in more than one state will not have sufficient employment and wages in any single state to establish
monetary eligibility, or would be eligible for a lower weekly benefit amount. In these situations, individuals
may file a claim in one of the states where they worked, and elect to combine the employment and wages earned
in all of the states in which they had employment and wages to establish eligibility or to increase the weekly
benefit amount. The “paying state” for a combined wage claim combines all base period employment and
wages earned under its law with employment and wages transferred from other states to determine the
individual’s monetary eligibility under its law. For example, if the individual has earned wages in Illinois and
Indiana, the individual may elect to file a combined wage claim using Illinois’ law. Because of the potential of
establishing more than one benefit year in more than one state, Federal regulations stipulate that employment
and wages transferred from one state to a second state for use in establishing a combined wage claim in that
second “paying” state cannot be used again to establish monetary eligibility. The methods that states use to
determine monetary eligibility vary greatly, as described in the following text.

Multiple of High-Quarter Wages—Under this method, individuals must earn a certain dollar amount in the
quarter with the highest earnings of their base period. Individuals must also earn total base period wages that
are a multiple-typically 1.5-of the high quarter wages. For example, if an individual earns $5,000 in the high
quarter, the individual must earn another $2,500 in the rest of the base period. States require earnings in more
than one quarter to minimize the likelihood that individuals with high earnings in only one quarter receive
benefits. Although monetarily eligible, those individuals wouldn’t be substantially attached to the labor market.

Multiple of Weekly Benefit Amount—Under this method, the state first computes the individual’s weekly
benefit amount. The individual must have earned a multiple—often 40-of this amount during the base period.
For example, if an individual’s weekly benefit amount equals $100, then the individual will need base period
earnings of 40 times $100—or $4,000-before any Ul would be paid. Most states also require wages in at least
two quarters. Some states have weighted schedules that require varying multiples for varying weekly benefits.

Flat Qualifying Amount—States using this method require a certain dollar amount of total wages to be earned
during the base period. This method is used by most states with an annual-wage requirement for determining
the weekly benefit and by some states with a high-quarter-wage/weekly benefit requirement.

Weeks/Hours of Employment—Under this method, the individual must have worked a certain number of
weeks/hours at a certain weekly/hourly wage.

The following table provides information on the qualifying formulas used by the states and the minimum wages
needed to qualify for Ul in each state.

TABLE 3-3: BASE PERIOD WAGE AND EMPLOYMENT REQUIREMENTS FOR BENEFITS

Minimum Wages Needed
State Qualifying Formula: Wages or Employment 0 hto Ol iy
9 Base Period
Quarter
. - - >$2,314
AL 1% x HQW in BP and qualifies for at least the minimum WBA >$1,157 .
(in 2 HQs)
AK $2,500 flat amount and wages in 2 quarters of BP $2,500
1% x HQW in BP and $1,500 in one quarter
AZ or alternative: flat-amount requirement - wages in 2 quarters of BP, wages in 1 quarter sufficient $1,500 $2,250
to qualify for the maximum WBA and total BPW > the taxable wage base ($7,000)
AR 35 x WBA in BP and wages in 2 quarters of BP $2,870
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TABLE 3-3: BASE PERIOD WAGE AND EMPLOYMENT REQUIREMENTS FOR BENEFITS

Minimum Wages Needed

State Qualifying Formula: Wages or Employment 0 hto OUE
9 Base Period
Quarter
$1,300 in HQ
@A or alternative: $900 in HQ with BPW = 1¥4 x HQ $900 $1.125
. . . $1,084
CO 40 x WBA or $2,500 in BP, whichever is greater (in 2 HQs) $2,500
CT 40 x WBA in BP $600
36 x WBA in BP. If insufficient BPW, but (36 x WBA) — BPW < $180, eligible for reduced
DE $720
WBA.
DC 1% x HQW in BP, or within $70 of meeting the 1% HQW in BP requirement, and $1,300 in HQ $1,300 $1,950
FL 1% x HQW in BP; minimum of $3,400 in BP; wages in 2 quarters $2,267 $3,400
GA 1% x HQW in BP $924 $1,760
or alternative: 1/21 HQW for WBA with 40 x WBA in BP and wages in 2 quarters (in 2 HQs)
HI 26 x WBA in BP and wages in 2 quarters $130
D 1% x HQW in BP and $1,872 in HQW. Minimum HQW, determined on January 1, must equal $1872 $2.340
50% of state minimum wage multiplied by 520 hours. ' '
IL $1,600 flat amount and $440 outside HQ $1,600
IN 1% x HQW totaling at least $2,500 in last 2 quarters of BP and not less than $4,200 in BP $2,800 $4,200
1 i 1/,0, i 1 i
1A 1% x HQW in BP (HQW must equal 3%2% of the statewide AAW) and %2 HQW in another $1.330 $1,990
quarter
KS 30 x WBA in BP and wages in 2 quarters $2,612 $3,330
KY 1% x HQW in BP, 8 x WBA in last 2 quarters of BP, $750 outside HQ $1,963 $2,944
LA 1% x HQW in BP $800 $1,200
$1,383
ME 2 x AWW in each of 2 different quarters and total wages of 6 x AWW in BP (in each of $4,148
2 Qs)
1% x HQW in BP, $576.01 in HQ and wages in 2 quarters. If doesn’t meet qualifying
requirement for WBA computed on HQW but does meet requirement for next lower bracket,
MD eligible for lower WBA, step down of 6 brackets; the multiple (1%%) is not applied to the $576 $900*
individual's HQW, but the qualifying amount, shown in a schedule, is computed at the upper
limit of each wage bracket (assuming a normal interval at the maximum benefit amount)*
MA 30 x WBA in BP and $3,500 minimum in BP $3,500
1% x HQW in BP
sl or alternative: BPW equal to 20 times the state AWW and wages in 2 quarters $2871 $4,307
MN $1,000 in HQ and $250 outside HQ? $1,000 $1,250
MS 40 x WBA in BP, 26 x minimum WBA in HQ and wages in 2 quarters $780 $1,200
1% x HQW in BP and $1,500 in one quarter;
49 or alternative: wages in 2 quarters and BPW of 1% x maximum taxable wage base for that year $1,500 $2250
1% x HQW in BP with total BP wages > 7% of the AAW
MT or alternative: Total BPW >50% of AAW $1.575 32,363
NE $3,770 in BP, and $1,850 in HQ, $800 in another quarter $1850 $3868
1% x HQW in BP and $400 in HQ
NV or alternative: wages in 3 of the 4 quarters in the BP and $400 in HQ $400 $600
NH $1,400 in each of 2 quarters $1,400 $2,800
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TABLE 3-3: BASE PERIOD WAGE AND EMPLOYMENT REQUIREMENTS FOR BENEFITS

Minimum Wages Needed

State Qualifying Formula: Wages or Employment 0 hto OUE
9 Base Period
Quarter
20 base weeks (20% of AWW)
NJ or alternative: 1,000 times the state minimum hourly wage. ($7.25/hr state minimum hourly $2,900
wage)
NM Wages in 2 quarters $1,798 $1,799
NY 1% x HQW in BP and wages in 2 quarters $1,600 $2,400
NC 6 x AWW in BP and wages in 2 quarters $1,170 $4,706
ND 1% x HQW in BP and wages in 2 quarters $1,864 $2,795
OH 20 weeks employment with wages in each week of at least 27%2% of the state AWW in BP and $4.400
wages in 2 quarters '
1% x HQW in BP and $1,500 in BP
el or alternative: flat-amount requirement >$19,100 in BP (100% state taxable wage base) $375 $1.500
1% x HQW in BP and $1,000 in BP
alr or alternative: flat-amount requirement 500 hours of employment in BP $667 $1,000
PA 16 credit weeks and at least 20% BPW out of HQ (see table in law)® $800 $1,320
40 x WBA in BP and wages in 2 quarters; if fail to meet qualifying requirement for WBA
PR computed on HQW but do meet qualifying requirement for next lower bracket, eligible for lower $77 $280
WBA, unlimited step-down provision. PR has a flat qualifying requirement for agricultural
workers. Individual’s annual salary is used for agricultural workers.
1% x HQW in BP and 200 x minimum hourly wage in 1 quarter and BP wages at least 400 x the
RI minimum hourly wage $1,480 $2,960
or alternative: $1200 x minimum hourly wage in BP
SC 1% x HQW in BP and $1,092 HQW and $4,455 BPW $1,092 $4,455
SD $728 in HQ and 20 x WBA outside HQ $728 $1,288
TN 40 x WBA in BP and lesser of 6 x WBA or $900 outside HQ >$780 >$1,560
TX 37 x WBA in BP and wages in 2 quarters $1,513 $2,257
T - 5 - -
uT 1'/2 x HQW in BP (BPW must be 8% of state average fiscal year wages in BP, rounded to the $2.133 $3,200
higher $100)
VT '1.4 X HQW in BP (HQW will be adjusted by a percentage increase equal to the percentage $2,203* $3,085
increase in the state minimum wage for the prior year)
. . 5 $2,700
VA $2,700 in 2 highest 2 quarters of BP (in 2 HQs)
1% x HQW in BP
vi or alternative: flat-amount requirement $858 in HQW and 39 x WBA in BP $658 $1,287
WA 680 hours employment in BP and wages in BP or alternate BP
WV $2,200 flat amount and wages in 2 quarters $2,200
Wi 35 x WBA in BP with 4 x WBA outside HQ and wages in at least 2 quarters $1,350 $1,890
- - 5 -
WY 1.4 x HQW in BP and wages in 2 quarters (BPW must be > 8% of statewide AAW rounded $2.215 $3,100
down to lowest $50)

GENERAL NOTE: Additional monetary requirements in some state laws result in minimum high quarter and/or base period wages that are
higher than what the qualifying formula alone would require.

! Effective March 1, 2012, HQW will increase to $1176.01 and BP will increase to $1800.
2 October 28, 2012 formula will be the higher of $2,400 in BP or 5.3 percent of state AAW.
8 January 1, 2015, credit weeks will be will increase to 18.

* $2,227 effective 7-1-12.

5 July 1, 2012, BP requirement will be $3,000 in 2 highest quarters.
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QUALIFYING FOR A SECOND BENEFIT YEAR

Since the standard base period established by the states’ laws results in a significant lag between the end
of the base period and the establishment of a benefit year, an individual could conceivably use lag-period wages

are exhausted and the first benefit year ended). As a result, all states require individuals to earn wages after the

beginning of the first benefit year. In many states, the amount an individual must earn is a multiple (from 3 to

10) of the weekly benefit amount. A few states require an individual to earn wages sufficient to meet the

minimum qualifying requirement. In addition, some states specify that the wages needed to requalify must be

earned in covered employment.

TABLE 3-4: WAGES NEEDED TO ESTABLISH NEW BENEFIT YEAR (AMOUNT TIMES WBA UNLESS INDICATED)

Subsequent to Subsequent to Wages Subsequent to Subsequent to Wages
State eI e Date of Last Other s BRElE o State Ecolng i Date of Last Other WAEELE
Preceding valid Claim Insured Preceding valid Claim in Insured
Benefit Year Work Benefit Year Work
AL 8 X AK 8
AZ 8 AR 8 X
Equivalent
qualifying
CA wages as in co $2,000
preceding
BY
5 or $300,
CT | whichever is X DE 10 X
greater
DC 10 FL 3
GA 10 X HI 5 X
6; wages must
ID be in bona fide IL 3
work
IN 8 X 1A $250 X
KS 8 X KY 5
6; or 3/13th of
LA | HQW. X ME 8 X
whichever is
less
MD 10 X MA 3
$2400 or 5.3%
Ml 5 MN AAW X
MS 8 X MO 5;10 x WBA in X
non-covered work
6; or 3/13th of Yr:/:l?risdm
MT HQ.W‘ . X NE work at X
whichever is
less least 6 x
WBA
$700 during or
NV 3 NH | subsequent to X
benefit year
4 weeks of
employment
5 and at least 6 x N 5
WBA in wages
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TABLE 3-4: WAGES NEEDED TO ESTABLISH NEW BENEFIT YEAR (AMOUNT TIMES WBA UNLESS INDICATED)

Subsequent to Subsequent to Wages Subsequent to Subsequent to Wages
State Beglnnlr'\g of Date of Last Other LGRS State Beglnnlr]g of Date of Last Other . il 2
Preceding valid Claim Insured Preceding valid Claim in Insured
Benefit Year Work Benefit Year Work
NY 5 NC 10 X
3 x AWW and
ND 10! X oH | covered X
employment in 6
weeks
OK 10 X OR |6 X
3; for at least
PA 6 PR one CQ, but not X
< $50
Insured
80 x the work; must
RI minimum X SC 8 be with a
hourly wage single
employer
SD 4 X TN 5 X
TX 6 uT 6 X
VT 4 X VA 30 days or 24(; X
hours of work’
VI 6 WA 6
wv 8 X Wi 8 X
! Does not apply to employment by a partnership, corporation, or limited
liability company if, at the time claim is filed, ownership interest has
wYy 8
been ceded.
2 Must be with one employer.

WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNT

After determining if an individual has sufficient wages and/or employment to qualify for Ul benefits, it
is necessary to determine what the weekly benefit amount — the amount payable for a week of total
unemployment — will be. As previously mentioned, Ul is intended to provide partial wage replacement. For
this reason, all individuals do not receive the same benefit amount. Some states replace approximately 50% of
individuals’ lost wages up to a certain limit (usually the average weekly wage in the state). As a result, states
tend to replace a higher percentage of low wage individuals’ income than they do for high wage individuals.
Several states provide dependents’ allowances. All states round weekly benefits to an even dollar amount.

States determine eligibility for Ul on the basis of the calendar week (generally, Sunday through the
following Saturday). In many states, the claim week is adjusted to coincide with the employer's payroll week
when an individual files a benefit claim for partial unemployment.

METHODS OF COMPUTING WEEKLY BENEFITS

As with qualifying wages, states utilize a variety of methods to determine an individual’s weekly benefit
amount.

High-Quarter Method—More than half of the states determine the weekly benefit amount by using the base
period quarter in which wages were highest. This quarter is viewed as the period most nearly reflecting full-
time work for the individual. By dividing this amount by 13 — the number of weeks in a calendar quarter — the
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average weekly wage is calculated. Based on the percentage of the weekly wage the state intends to replace, the
weekly wage is divided and the weekly benefit amount is calculated. For example, an individual who earns

$2,600 in the high quarter has an average weekly wage of $200 a week ($2,600 divided by 13). If the state

replaces Y2 of the average weekly earnings, the weekly benefit amount is $100. To simplify the calculations,
states determine the “overall” multiple of the high-quarter wages to determine the weekly benefit amount. In the
previous example, it would be 1/26 (1/13 times %2). (Note that this type of formula is used by all states using a
multiple of high-quarter wages to establish a benefit year.) 1/26 is the most common multiple used by states.

Since even the quarter of highest earnings may include some unemployment, some states use a fraction
generating a higher weekly benefit (e.g., 1/23). Some states use a weighted schedule, which gives a greater
proportion of the high-quarter wages to lower-paid individuals than to those earning more. In these states, the
maximum fraction varies from 1/11 to 1/26 while the minimum varies from 1/23 to 1/33.

Multi-Quarter Method—Under this method, the weekly benefit amount is calculated as a multiple of the total

or average quarterly wages paid in more than one quarter. This approach is viewed as being more likely to

reflect an individual’s usual full-time employment pattern since it surveys a greater period of time rather than
just focusing on the quarter with highest earnings.

Annual-Wage Method—Several states compute the weekly benefit as a percentage of annual wages in the base
period. This approach reflects the view that annual wages determine the individual’s standard of living. Most
states use a weighted schedule, which gives a larger proportion of annual wages to lower-paid individuals to
determine their weekly benefit amount.

Average-Weekly-Wage Formula—Several states compute the weekly benefit as a percentage of the
individual’s average weekly wages in the base period.

The following table provides information on how states calculate weekly benefit amounts, what the minimum
and maximum weekly benefit amounts are in each state, and the wages required in order to be eligible for the
weekly benefit amounts.

TABLE 3-5: WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNTS

Method of Calculating and

Weekly Benefit Amount

Minimum Wages Required

State Formula Rounding to for Maximum WBA
Minimum® Maximum® | High quarter | Base period
MQ . $13,730
Ak 1/26 of average wages in 2 high quarters Higher $ $45 $265 NIA in 2 quarters
AW
AK | 0 906 - 4.4% BP wages + DA (see table in law) Nearest $ $56 - $128 $370 - $442 N/A $41,750
Az | B9 Nearest $ $60 $240 $5,988 $8,981
AR ['/(236 Lower $ $82° $457° $11,882 $12,339
HQ
CA | 1/23-1/26 (if HQW < $1,833, see table in law; Higher $ $40 $450 $11,675 $14,594
otherwise, 1/26 HQW)
HQ/WW
Higher of: $454 $9,837 in%lglgférs
(1) 60% of 1/26 of 2 highest consecutive (low formula) | (low formula) (low ?ormula)
CO | quarters, capped by 50% of average weekly Lower $ $25
earnings (low formula); or $500 Not applicable $52.000
(2) 50% of 1/52 BP earnings, capped by 55% of (high formula) | (high formula) (high fcl)rmula)
average weekly earnings (high formula) g
MQ/HQ . $14,898
CT | 1/26 wages in 2 HQs + DA,; for construction Lower $ $15 - $30 $573-$648 in2 harters $22,920
workers, 1/26 of HQW + DA 4
MQ $15,180 in 2
IS 1/46 of wages earned in highest 2 quarters Lower $ $20 $330 N/A quarters
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TABLE 3-5: WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNTS

Method of Calculating and

Weekly Benefit Amount

Minimum Wages Required

State Formula Rounding to for Maximum WBA
Minimum® Maximum® | High quarter | Base period
pc |0 Lower $ $50 $359 $9,334 $14,001
FL |1_|/(236 Lower $ $32 $275 $7,150 $10,725
MQ
1/42 wages in 2 HQs; computed as 1/21 of HQW $13.860 in 2
GA | when alternative qualifying wages are used Lower $ $44 $330 N/A L’Jarters
(Note: If claimant would qualify for $27-$44, 4
the claimant’s WBA is $44.)
HI '{'/(231 Higher $ $5 $523 $10,963 $13,598
o |03 Lower $ $72 $343 $8,918 $11,147
MQ . . . $22,243in 2
IL | 47% of the claimant's wages in highest 2 quarters Higher $ $51 - $77 $403-549 N/A l’Jarters
divided by 26 + DA 4
HQ
IN 5% of the first $2,000 in HQ wage credits and Lower $ $50 $390 $9,250 $11,563
4% of the remaining HQ wage credits®
HQ
IA | 1/19 (4 or more dependents) - 1/23 (no Lower $ $57-70 $385 - $473 $8,715 $10,984
dependents)
HQ
KS 4.25% Lower $ $111 $444 $10,448 $13,320
KY AW Nearest $ $39 $415 N/A $31,695
1.1923% BPW '
MQ
LA | 1/25 of the average wages in 4 quarters of BP x Lower $ $10 $247 N/A $24,700
1.05x1.15
MQ $16,104
ME | 1/22 of the average of the 2 HQs + DA (see table Lower $ $64-96 $366- $549 N/A . '
: in 2 quarters
in law)
HO $430
MD Higher $ $25 - $65* same with or >$10,296 $15,480
1/24 + DA .
without DA
MQ $33,956
MA | 50% of 1/26 of total wages in 2 HQs up to 57.5% Lower $ $33-$49 $653 - $979 N/A in 2 high
of state AWW quarters
HO $362
Ml Lower $ $117 - $147 same with or $8,830 $13,245
4.1% + DA .
without DA
$385 $10,010 $10,260
HOMW (bHaSQesv ;)n (based on (based on
M| The higher of 50% of 1/52 BPW up to Lower 538 HQW) HQW)
66%:% of the state AWW, or 50% of 1/13 HQ up $597 .
to 43% of the state’s AWW Not applicable $62,088
(based on (based on (based on
BPW) BPW) BPW)
MS |1_|/(236 Lower $ $30 $235 $6,110 $9,400
MQ $16,000 in 2
— 4.0% of the average of the 2 HQs Lower $ $35 $320 N/A quarters
AW/MQ $22,685
il 1.0% of BPW or 1.9% of wages in the 2 HQs Lower $ $123 $431 N/A in 2 quarters
Ww
NE | % of AWW rounded down to nearest even $1. Lower even $ $70 $354 $9,204 $27,612
May not exceed ¥ of state AWW.
NV B Lower $ $16 $396 $9,990 $14,850
NH | AW Nearest $ $32 $427 N/A $41,500

1.0% - 1.1% of BPW (see table in law)
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TABLE 3-5: WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNTS

Method of Calculating and

Weekly Benefit Amount

Minimum Wages Required

State Formula Rounding to for Maximum WBA
Minimum® Maximum® | High quarter | Base period
WwW $611 $20.367
NJ | 60% (base weeks’ wages/number of base weeks) Lower $ $87 - $100 same with or N/A . X
- in 20 weeks
+ DA without DA
HQ
NM | 53%% of AWW in HQ + DA, wages in 2 Lower $ $74 - $111 $397 - $447 $9,647 $9,648
quarters of BP
HQ
NY 1/26; 1/25 if HQW < $3,575 Nearest $ $64 $405 $10,517 $15,776
NC |1_|/(236 Lower $ $45 $522 $13,572 $13,573
MQ
ND | 1/65 of (total wages earned in highest 2 quarters Lower $ $43 $470 N/A $30,550
and ¥ of total wages in third highest quarter)
Ww N . $16,000
OH | 50% (wages in qualified weeks in BP / number Lower $ $111 $400-539 N/A - '
in 20 weeks
of such weeks) + DA
ok | NS Lower $ $16 $368 $8,464 $19,100°
or |AW Lower $ $118 $507 N/A $40,560
1.25% BP wages '
HQ
PA 1/23 - 1/25 + DA (see table in law) Lower $ $35 - $43 $573 - $581 $14,898 $22,840
HQ
PR 111 - 1/26 Lower $ $7 $133 $3,458 $5,320
HQ
RI 4.62% + DA® Lower $ $68 - $118 $566 - $707 $12,252 N/A
sc |03 Lower $ $42 $326 $8,476 $12,714
SD 1H/2QG Lower $ $28 $323 $8,398 $14,858
MQ >$14,300 in 2
TN 11796 of average of 2 HQs (see table in law) Lower $ $30 - $80 $275 - $325 NIA quarters
™ |89 Nearest $ $61 $426 $10,638 $15,744
HQ
uT 1/26 - $5 Lower $ $25 $467 $12,272 $18,408
MQ $19,125in 2
i Wages in the 2 highest quarters divided by 45 Lower $ 368 $425 N/A quarters
MQ 7 >$18,900 in 2
i 1/50 of 2 HQs (see table in law) Lower $ $54 3378 N/A quarters
VI |1_|/(236 Lower $ $33 $494 $12,844 $19,266
MQ
WA 3.85% of average of 2 HQs Lower $ $138 $583 N/A $30,286
AW
WV [ 55% of 1/52 of median wages in individual’s Lower $ $24 $424 N/A $40,150
wage class- (see table in law)
WI HQ Lower $ $54 $363 $9,075 $12,705
4.0%
wy | HQ Lower $ $32 $444 $11,100 $15,540
4.0%
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TABLE 3-5: WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNTS

Method of Calculati g Weekly Bengfit A N Minimum Wages Required
State etho oFor?n Elfaatmg an Rounding to B pAlsania lezatitieln for Maximum WBA
Minimum* | Maximum® [ High quarter | Base period

KEY: HQ = High Quarter Formula MQ = Multi-Quarter Formula AW = Annual Wage Formula WW = Average Weekly Wage Formula
DA = Dependent’s Allowances

GENERAL NOTE: Since the high quarter and base period wage requirements for the minimum weekly benefit amount are the same as the wage and
employment requirements to qualify for benefits, they are not repeated in this table. (See Table 3-3.) Additionally, in states where the benefit
entitlement is calculated using multi-quarter, annual wage, or average weekly wage formulas, the high quarter cell is shown as N/A as no specific
level of wages is required in the high quarter pursuant to state law.

1 When 2 WBAs are listed, higher figure includes DA. Higher figure for minimum and maximum WBAs includes DA for maximum number of
dependents.

2 Effective July 1, 2012, minimum WBA will decrease to $81 and maximum WBA will decrease to $451.

3 Effective July 1, 2012, formula changes to 47 percent of AWW and removes cap on wage credit.

4 Minimum WBA will increase to $50-$90 for claims filed on or after March 4, 2012.

® The BPW can be comprised of both insured and non-insured wages. To be eligible for the maximum WBA only $8,464 of the $19,100 of BPW
must be taxable.

® Effective July 1, 2012, 4.38% in 2 highest quarters; 4.15 percent on July 1, 2013 and 3.85 percent on July 1 2014.4

" For claims filed on and after July 1, 2012, the minimum WBA will increase to $60.

AUTOMATIC ADJUSTMENTS TO WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNTS

In those states where Ul is intended to replace a specific percent of wages up to a fixed percent of the state’s
average weekly wage, the calculation of benefit entitlement is determined by the state’s average weekly wage.
Because wages increase, states recalculate the average weekly wage periodically to update the benefits schedule
and continue to replace the desired percentage of an individual’s lost wages. The maximum weekly benefit
amount is usually more than 50 percent of the average weekly wage in covered employment within the state
during a recent 1-year period. In most states, the minimum weekly benefit is an amount specified in the law.
However, some states’ laws link the minimum weekly benefit amount with their average weekly wage as well.
The following table includes states with automatic adjustments to benefit amounts.

TABLE 3-6: STATES WITH AUTOMATIC ADJUSTMENTS TO BENEFIT AMOUNTS
Method of Computation
. Semiannually as % of
Annually as % of AWW in AWW in Covered Percentage of State AWW
Covered Employment in: .
Employment in:
State 12 Months
12 12 Ending 6 All Effective
Preceding Months | Months Months . . - Date Of
. . Industries Maximum Minimum
CY Ending Ending Before In State New
March 31 | June 30 Effective Amounts
Date
. 12% (low
2/.0,
AR X 66%% (high formula) formula) July 1
CO X 55% July 1
60%; based on AWW of production
cT X and related workers (may not be 1% Sunday
increased by more than $18 in any in October
year)
DC X 66%% January 1
HI X 75% January 1
Percentage varies (52% - 60%)
ID X depending upon the base tax rate in a January 1
given year
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TABLE 3-6: STATES WITH AUTOMATIC ADJUSTMENTS TO BENEFIT AMOUNTS

Method of Computation

Annually as % of AWW in

Semiannually as % of

Covered Employment in: AEWW in Cove_re_d Percentage of State AWW
mployment in:
State 12 Months
12 12 Ending 6 All Effective
Preceding Months | Months Months . . - Date Of
. - Industries Maximum Minimum
CY Ending Ending Before In State New
March 31 | June 30 Effective Amounts
Date
47%; for claimants with dependents,
maximum is limited to 65.2% of
IL X state's AWW, which is based on January 1
percentage changes from year to
year
53% for claimants with no
1A X dependents; for claimants with 1% Sunday
dependents, ranges from 55% to in July
65%
25% of
KS X 60% max WBA July 1
62%; cannot increase in any year
KY X Wher) tax schedule increases: from July 1
previous year (year-to-year increases
limited depending on fund balance)
LA X 6624% Septimber
ME X 52% June 1
1% Sunday
1,
MA X ST% in October
Higher of 50% of the individual’s
AWW in the BP to a maximum of Last
MN X 662/?% _of_ the state AWW, or 50% of sunday in
the individual’s AWW during the October
HQ to a maximum of 43% of the
state AWW
MT X 67%:% 20% July 1
NV X 50% July 1
NJ X 56%% January 1
st
NM X 53 14% 100 | L Sunday
in January
NC X 66%% August 1
62%; 65% of state AWW if trust
fund reserves on Oct. 1 are > the
ND X required amount and the state's 1% Sunday
average contribution rate is < the in July
nationwide average for the preceding
year
Percentage used is not specified by 1% Sunday
OH X -
law in January
The greater of $197 or 60%, 57.7%,
55%, 52%:% or 50% of state AWW
OK X of the second preceding CY, July 1
depending on the condition of the
fund
OR X 64% 1505 | ek of
uly 4
PA X 66%% January 1
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TABLE 3-6: STATES WITH AUTOMATIC ADJUSTMENTS TO BENEFIT AMOUNTS

Method of Computation
- Semiannually as % of
Annually as % of AWW in AWW in Covered Percentage of State AWW
Covered Employment in: E L
mployment in:
State 12 Months
12 12 Ending 6 All Effective
Preceding Months | Months Months . . - Date Of
. - Industries Maximum Minimum
CY Ending Ending Before In State New
March 31 | June 30 Effective Amounts
Date
PR X 50% July 1
RI X 67%2 July 1
SC X 66%:% July 1
SD X 50% July 1
TX X 47.6% 7.6% October 1
uT X 62Y%:% - $5 January 1
st
VT X Percentage not specified by law 1 _Sunday
in July
VI X 50% January 1
st
WA X 63%° 150 | 1 Sunday
in July
WV X 66%:% July 1
15% of
2/,0
Wi X 66%:% of the average wages per maximum January 1
average week and July 1
rate
st
WY X 55% 4% 1 Sunday
in July

! State AWW computed using 36-month period.
2 Effective July 1, 2012, maximum WBA will be 57.7% of state AWW or $566 (2011 maximum), whichever is greater.

*The maximum WBA is calculated as the greater of $496 or 63% of the AWW for the preceding calendar year.

WAITING PERIOD

Individuals who are otherwise eligible for benefits must first serve a waiting period in most states. In
most states, the waiting-period requirement for weeks of partial unemployment is the same as for weeks of total
unemployment. The waiting period is served in or with respect to a particular benefit year. Special provisions
may exist for successive benefit years. (When an individual, after intervening employment, has an additional
spell of unemployment that continues beyond the end of the first benefit year, the individual may not have to
serve another waiting week if he is monetarily eligible for benefits in the second year.)

TABLE 3-7: STATE INITIAL WAITING PERIODS
Duration . . .
State (in weeks)* Becomes Compensable After: May Be Waived Under These Circumstances
AL 1!
AK 1
AZ 1
AR 1
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TABLE 3-7: STATE INITIAL WAITING PERIODS

State (i?%?éfsr)]* Becomes Compensable After: May Be Waived Under These Circumstances
During a state of war emergency or a state of emergency if
CA 12 compliance with the waiting period requirement would prevent,
hinder, or delay the mitigation of the effects of a state of
emergency (e.g., natural disaster)
co 18
CT No waiting period
DE No waiting period
DC 1
FL 1
GA No waiting period
HI 1
ID 1
IL 1
For individuals who become unemployed due to employer
3 3 weeks of unemployment consecutive to terminating business operations within the state, declaring
IN 1 o A ;
such waiting week bankruptcy, or initiating a workforce reduction pursuant to the
Federal WARN Act
1A No waiting period
For individuals who become unemployed due to employer
KS 1 terminating business operations within the state; the employer
declaring bankruptcy or a workforce reduction that is subject to
the Federal WARN Act
When remaining balance on claim is equal
KY 1 to or less than compensable amount for
waiting week
LA 1
ME 1
MD No waiting period
MA 1 No waivers though authority exists and has been used before
Ml No waiting period
If the individual would have been entitled to DUA but has
MN 1 . A
established benefit account
MS 1 If the President declares a major disaster in accordance with
Stafford Act
When remaining balance on claim is equal
MO 14 to or less than compensable amount for
waiting week
MT 1
NE 1
NV No waiting period
NH 1
NJ No waiting period
NM 1 Natural disaster, extended benefit program
NY 1 At the direction of the Governor

3-16




MONETARY ENTITLEMENT

TABLE 3-7: STATE INITIAL WAITING PERIODS

State (m?éfsr)‘* Becomes Compensable After: May Be Waived Under These Circumstances
NC 1 May be waived for major industrial disasters
ND 1
OH 1
OK 1
OR 1
PA 1
PR 1
RI 1 For individuals who become unemployed due to a natural disaster
or state of emergency
SC 1
SD 1
3 consecutive weeks of compensable
TN 1 unemployment immediately following a
waiting period
TX 18 Receipt of benefits equaling 3 x WBA
If Department approval for training is granted for the first eligible
uT 1 .
week of the claim
VT 1°
For an individual whose unemployment was caused by his
employer terminating operations, closing its business, or declaring
VA 1 bankruptcy without paying the final wages earned as required by
Section 40.1-29 of the Code of Virginia
Authorized by the Governor under an executive order
Vi 1®
WA 1
WV 1
wi No waiting period
wy No waiting period

* For total unemployment, partial unemployment or in consecutive benefit years unless otherwise noted.

! The waiting period is served in the 14" week.

2 One week waiting period is deferred if claimant is in continued claim status from a prior year’s claim. The one-week waiting period must
be served later in the new benefit year if there is an interruption of Ul payments for one or more weeks. Also, the 1-week waiting period
credit for the new benefit year may be served in the last week of the prior benefit year if the claim was exhausted prior to the last week of
that benefit year.

® No waiting period required for new/consecutive benefit year.

“ Claimant ineligible if there is an outstanding penalty assessed on overpayment of benefits.

° Waiting week is repealed July 1, 2017 or when the unemployment compensation fund has a positive balance.

BENEFITS FOR PARTIAL UNEMPLOYMENT

Often, instead of being laid off, individuals may have their hours reduced during an economic downturn.
Or, unemployed individuals may find short-term work while looking for a permanent, full-time job. These
circumstances characterize partial unemployment. The Ul system is set up to permit benefit receipt by these
individuals as long as they meet all eligibility requirements. However, the weekly benefit amount payable
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differs.

A week of total unemployment is commonly defined as a week in which the individual performs no
work and with respect to which remuneration is not payable. In Puerto Rico, an individual is deemed totally
unemployed if earnings from self-employment are less than 1% times the weekly benefit amount or if no service
is performed for a working period of 32 hours or more in a week. In a few states, an individual is considered
totally unemployed in a week even though certain small amounts of wages are earned. In most states, an
individual is partially unemployed in a week of less than full-time work and earnings of less than the weekly
benefit amount. In some states, an individual is partially unemployed in a week of less than full-time work
when less than the weekly benefit amount plus an allowance is earned, either from odd-job earnings or from any
source as indicated in the following table.

The individual’s Ul payment will generally equal the difference between the weekly benefit amount and
earnings. All states disregard some earnings as an incentive to take short-term work.

When determining monetary entitlement to benefits, the state usually specifies a maximum dollar
amount that can be received—usually equal to a specified number of weeks of benefits for total unemployment
multiplied by the weekly benefit amount for total unemployment. Consequently, a partially unemployed
individual may draw benefits for a greater number of weeks than a totally unemployed individual.

Most state laws provide that the benefit for a week of partial unemployment will be rounded to the
nearest or the lower dollar. For example, in a state with a $30 earnings disregard and rounding to the nearest
dollar, an individual with a $40 weekly benefit amount and earnings of $50.95 would receive a partial benefit of
$19.

TABLE 3-8: PARTIAL UNEMPLOYMENT AND EARNINGS DISREGARDED WHEN DETERMINING WEEKLY BENEFIT

Definition of Partial Earnings Disregarded in Definition of Partial Earnings Disregarded in
State Unemployment - Week of Computing Weekly State Unemployment - Week of Computing Weekly
Less Than Full-Time Work Benefit for Partial Less Than Full-Time Work if Benefit for Partial
if Earnings are Less Than: Unemployment Earnings are Less Than: Unemployment
AL WBA $15 AK 1% x WBA + $50 Y, wages over $50
2/5 WBA
AZ WBA $30 AR WBA + 2/5 WBA
CA WBA Greater of $25 or co WBA Y, WBA
Y4 of wages
5 wages; includes holiday
N - pay in the remuneration WBA + greater of $10 N
CT 1% + basic WBA for determining partial DE or % WBA Greater of $10 or %2 WBA
benefits
DC WBA + $20 1/5 wages + $20 FL WBA 8 x Federal \t‘v‘;‘ére'y minimum
GA WBA $50; exgludes payments HI WBA $150
for jury service
ID WBA + % WBA % WBA IL WBA % WBA
Greater of $3 or 1/5 WBA
from other than base . }
IN WBA period employers; 1A WBA + $15 7 WB':" gxcludes payments
or jury service
excludes payments for
jury service
KS WBA Y2 WBA KY 1¥4 x WBA 1/5 wages
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TABLE 3-8: PARTIAL UNEMPLOYMENT AND EARNINGS DISREGARDED WHEN DETERMINING WEEKLY BENEFIT

Definition of Partial Earnings Disregarded in Definition of Partial Earnings Disregarded in
State Unemployment - Week of Computing Weekly State Unemployment - Week of Computing Weekly
Less Than Full-Time Work Benefit for Partial Less Than Full-Time Work if Benefit for Partial
if Earnings are Less Than: Unemployment Earnings are Less Than: Unemployment
$25; excludes wages
received by members of the
National Guard and
organized labor, including
base pay and allowances or
any amounts received as a
LA WBA Lesser of 2 WBA or $50 | ME WBA + $5 volunteer emergency
medical services worker;
also excludes earnings
received as a result of
participating in full-time
Trade Act training, up to an
amount equal to most recent
WBA
¥s WBA; earnings plus
MD Augmented WBA $50 MA WBA WBA may not equal or
exceed the individual's
AWW
For each $1 earned, WBA
reduce_d by 40 cents For each $1 earned, WBA
(benefits and earnings .
cannot exceed 1 3/5 reduceq by 55_cents, no
WBA); earnings above ¥ deduction fo(; qury pay and
MIt 13/5x WBA WBA result in dollar-for- | MN WBA Wa%es ea(rj”? Nor.ser"l'ces
dollar reduction in WBA,; peer ormed in Nationa
if the resulting WBA is uard and military FESErve,
zer0. weeks of benefits and as a volunteer firefighter
' or in ambulance services
payable reduced by 1
week
$20 or 1/5 WBA, whichever
is greater; excludes
termination pay, severance
MS WBA $40 MO WBA.+ $20 or L5 WBA, pay, and wages from service
whichever is greater : : L
in the organized militia for
training or authorized duty
from benefit computation
MT 2 x WBA %2 wages over ¥ WBA NE WBA Y2 WBA
NV WBA Y4 wages NH WBA 3/10 WBA
NJ WBA + greater of $5 or 1/5 Greater of $5 or 1/5 WBA | NM WBA 1/5 WBA, gxcludes_
WBA payments for jury service
Benefits paid at the rate of %2 WBA for each effective day
within a week beginning on Monday (effective day defined Week of less than 3 customary -
al as 4™ and each subsequent day of total unemployment in a e scheduled full-time days 1/10 AWW in HQ
week in which claimant earns not more than $300)
ND WBA 3/5 WBA OH WBA 1/5 WBA
Y5 WBA; or 10 x state
minimum wage ($8.50 in
2011); excludes wages from
OK WBA + $100 $100 OR WBA service in the organized
militia for training or
authorized duty from benefit
computation
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TABLE 3-8: PARTIAL UNEMPLOYMENT AND EARNINGS DISREGARDED WHEN DETERMINING WEEKLY BENEFIT

Definition of Partial
Unemployment - Week of

Earnings Disregarded in
Computing Weekly

Definition of Partial
Unemployment - Week of

Earnings Disregarded in
Computing Weekly

SIS Less Than Full-Time Work Benefit for Partial SIS Less Than Full-Time Work if Benefit for Partial
if Earnings are Less Than: Unemployment Earnings are Less Than: Unemployment
1% x WBA; week in which
wages or remuneration from
self-employment are less than
PA WBA + 2/5 WBA Greater of $6 or 2/5 WBA | PR [ 1% times claimant's WBA or WBA
the claimant performs no
service for a working period of
32 hours or more in a week
RI2 Basic WBA 1/5 WBA SC WBA Y2 WBA
SD WBA Y4 wages over $25 TN WBA Greater of $50 or ¥ WBA
Tx | WBA* 9r\3\"’/‘t§o\°f $50r% | Greater of $5 0r s WBA | UT WBA 3/10 WBA
WBA + $15 provided the
claimant works less than 35 Greater of $40 or 3/10
U hours (35 hours is considered WBA M WBA $50
full-time employment)
15 x WBA + $5; weekly hours
VI 1% x WBA + $15 Y2 wages in excess of $15 | WA | of work temporarily reduced by Y, wages over $5
employer by no more than 60%
Any week the individual $30 plus 33% of wages in
receives any wages. No excess of $30 (excludes
individual may be eligible for wages received as a
partial benefits if the benefit volunteer firefighter or
payment is < $5; or if an voluntary medical
employer paid the individual at | technician from benefit
e WBA + $61 $60 R least 80% of the BPW; or the computation)
individual worked full-time for
the employer in the week at the
same, or a greater rate of pay as
the individual was paid in the
HQ.
WY WBA % WBA

! Effective October 1, 2015, reduction will return to 1.5 X WBA with each $1 earned resulting in 40 cent reduction in benefits.

2 Special provision for totally unemployed individuals who have days of employment between the end of the waiting period and the beginning of
the first compensable week, and also for those who return to work prior to the end of a compensable week, provided they have been in receipt
of benefits for at least 2 successive weeks of total unemployment. For each day of unemployment in such week in which work is ordinarily
performed in the individual's occupation, one-fifth of the weekly benefit is paid, up to four-fifths of the weekly rate.

DEPENDENTS’ ALLOWANCES

Although wages earned during the base period is the primary factor in determining the size of the
payment a claimant receives each week, some states’ laws provide for a dependents’ allowance above and
beyond the basic benefit amount payable. The definition of dependent, for Ul purposes, varies from state to
state, as does the allowance granted. In general, a dependent must be wholly or mainly supported by the
individual, or living with or receiving regular support from the individual.

DEFINITION OF DEPENDENT—AII states with dependents’ allowances include children under a specified
age. The intent is to include all children whom the individual is morally obligated to support. In most of these
states, allowances may be paid on behalf of older children who are unable to work because of physical or mental
disability. In some states, children are not the only dependents recognized - spouses, parents, or siblings are also
included in the definition. The following table outlines, for the states that have dependents’ allowances, their
definition of a dependent.
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TABLE 3-9: DEFINITION OF DEPENDENT

Dependent Child

Nonworking Dependent

Older Brother Number of
State Under 18 Unless Otherwise Child Not s p t Dependents | Max. No. of
Noted* Able to pouse aren or Fixed for Dependents
Work! Sl BY
Child must be unmarried; must have
received more than half the cost of
AK | support from claimant or be lawfully X2 3
in the individual's custody at the time
the individual claims the allowance?
CT | 21 ifchild is full-time student x3 X 5
Spouse must be
currently ineligible
IL X? X? for benefits in the 1
State because of
insufficient BPW
No dependency
allowance paid for
1A X2 X2 any week in which X X X 4
Spouse earns more
than $120 in gross
wages
No dependency
allowance paid for
any week in which
ME X2 X23 spouse is employed x4
full time and is
contributing to
support of dependents
MD 162 X2 X 5
Child must be unmarried and by
MA?® | interpretation; 24 if child is full-time X23 X x4
student?
Must have received more than half
the cost of support from claimant for 2.3 6 7
il at least 90 consecutive days or for the X X X X X 5
duration of the parental relationship?
19; child must be unmarried; 22 if 2.3 4
NI Child is full-time student? X X X 2
Child must also be unemancipated.
Child may be in legal custody of
NM claimant pending adoption. Court 4
requires claimant to contribute to
child’s support and no one else is
receiving benefits for that child.
Must have received more than half
the cost of support from claimant May not be claimed
within 90 days prior to BYB (or as dependent if
OH duration of parental relationship, if X2 average weekly X 3
less than 90 days). Child, stepchild, income is in excess of
or adopted child may be 18 years of 25% of the claimant's
age or older if mentally or physically AWW
disabled and unable to work.?
PA X X X 2
RI X2 X2 X 5
Child must be an unemancipated
TN | minor child who is wholly or mainly 4

supported by the claimant?
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TABLE 3-9: DEFINITION OF DEPENDENT

Dependent Child Nonworking Dependent
Older Broth Number of
State Under 18 Unless Otherwise Child Not SehE Dependents | Max. No. of
Noted* Able to SlpoLEs PRI or Fixed for Dependents
Work! Sl BY

L In all states except MA, includes stepchild by statute.
in MA, legal guardians are included by statute.
% Full-time student included in CT, ME, MA, MI, and NJ.
* The dependent allowance is capped at 50% of the claimant’s WBA.
® Only dependents residing within the U.S., and its Territories and possessions.
® parents over 65 or permanently disabled from gainful employment.

" Brother or sister under 18, orphaned, or whose living parents are dependents.

AMOUNT OF WEEKLY DEPENDENTS” ALLOWANCES—As with the definition of dependents, there is
much variation among states concerning the amount of weekly dependents’ allowance payable. However, there
are some commonalities. For example, the allowance is ordinarily a fixed sum. In addition, all states have a
limit on the total amount of dependents’ allowance payable in any week: in terms of dollar amount; number of
dependents; percentage of basic benefits, of high-quarter wages, or of average weekly wage. This limitation
results in reductions, for some individuals, in the actual allowance per dependent or the maximum number of
dependents on whose behalf allowances may be paid. In almost all states, the number of dependents is fixed for
the benefit year when the monetary determination on the claim is made. Likewise, in virtually all states, only
one parent may draw allowances if both are receiving benefits simultaneously. Individuals who are eligible for
partial benefits may draw dependents’ allowances in addition to their basic benefits in most of the states
providing for these allowances. They receive the full allowance for a week of partial unemployment.
Consequently, the allowance for dependents may be greater than the basic benefit for partial unemployment.
Alaska and Connecticut permit dependents’ allowances to be adjusted during the benefit year if an individual
acquires additional dependents.

TABLE 3-10: AMOUNT OF WEEKLY DEPENDENTS’ ALLOWANCES

Weekly Weekly Maximum Maximum
State Allowance per Dependents’ Allowances Dependents’ Allowance for Dependents’ Allowance for
Dependent Capped at: Minimum Weekly Benefit Maximum Weekly Benefit
AK $24 $72 $72 $72
CT $15 Lesser of WBA or $75 $15 $75
IL $26 - $147 $26 - $147 $26 $147"
1A $2-%14 Schedule $2 - $85 $11 $85
ME $10 % WBA $30 $178
$0; same maximum WBA with or without
MD $8 $40 $40 dependents
MA $25 %2 WBA $17 $314
$0; same maximum WBA with or without
M $6 $30 $30 dependents
7% of WBA for 1% dependent and 4% for each of the $0; same maximum WBA with or without
NJ $13
next 2 dependents dependents
NM $25 Y% WBA up to $50 $37 $50
Determined by schedule
OH $1-$133 according to the AWW and $0 $133
dependency class
$5; $3 for one
A other dependent %8 %8 %8
RI $15 Greater of $50 or 25% of WBA $50 $137
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TABLE 3-10: AMOUNT OF WEEKLY DEPENDENTS’ ALLOWANCES

Weekly Weekly Maximum Maximum
State Allowance per Dependents’ Allowances Dependents’ Allowance for Dependents’ Allowance for
Dependent Capped at: Minimum Weekly Benefit Maximum Weekly Benefit
TN $15 $50 $50 $50

GENERAL NOTE: Full dependents’ allowance (DA) given for weeks of partial benefits in all states with the following exceptions: MD and
PA - Not more than 26 DA payments for dependents may be made in any one BY (individuals are partially unemployed if they earn less than
the unadjusted WBA). IL — DA shown is for child; spouse DA is different.

! Both the WBA and the dependents’ allowances are calculated as a percentage of the state’s average weekly wage.

DURATION OF BENEFITS

When states compute an individual’s monetary eligibility for benefits, in addition to calculating the
weekly benefit amount, they determine the duration of benefits — how long benefits can be collected. The
duration is usually measured as a number of weeks of total unemployment. Maximum weeks of benefits vary
from 26 to 30 weeks, most frequently 26 weeks. A few states’ laws establish uniform durations of 26 weeks for
all individuals who meet the qualifying-wage requirements, whereas the rest of the states have variable
durations. Uniform duration states are not necessarily “more generous” than the other states because many of
these states have comparatively high minimum wage thresholds to qualify for all but the lowest benefit levels.
Similarly, whether directly or indirectly, all uniform duration states require employment in more than one
quarter for all — or most — individuals to qualify for benefits.

In variable duration states, duration is derived. First, the state determines the limit on total benefits
receivable in a benefit year (the maximum entitlement). In most of these states, an individual’s benefits are
limited to a fraction or percent of base-period wages if it produces an amount less than the specified multiple
(usually 26-30) of the individual’s weekly benefit amount. The rest of the variable duration states — states using
an average-weekly-wage method — set maximum potential benefits as a fraction of weeks worked during the
base period. Once the state calculates the maximum entitlement, it divides that amount by the weekly benefit
amount to derive the duration. Some states’ laws specify both the minimum and maximum duration, in weeks,
along with the method of calculating benefit entitlement. Since in all of these states, the maximum potential
benefit may be used for weeks of total or partial unemployment, individuals can collect benefits longer than
their stated duration (until they have exhausted their maximum entitlement).

Depending on the distribution of wages in the base period, individuals with the same total base period
wages can have different durations and different weekly benefit amounts. For example, individuals whose
wages are concentrated largely or wholly in the high quarter will have a higher weekly benefit amount but a
shorter duration.

In most states with variable duration, individuals at all benefit levels are subject to the same minimum
and maximum weeks of duration.

A few states include a limitation on wage credits in computing duration. For example, in Colorado,
only wages up to 26 times the current maximum weekly amount per quarter count. This type of provision tends
to reduce weeks of benefits for individuals at the higher benefit levels.

This section deals only with the regular Ul program. Extensions are addressed in the following chapter.
The following table describes how each variable duration state calculates benefit entitlement and the
duration of benefits (number of benefit weeks) an individual is eligible to receive benefits. Additionally, the

minimum and maximum potential benefits, duration, and wage credits required to qualify for the maximum
duration of the maximum weekly benefit amount are provided for all states.
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TABLE 3-11: BENEFIT ENTITLEMENT AND DURATION OF BENEFITS

Minimum Maximum Potential Benefits
Formula for Calculating Benefit Potential Wage Credits Required Duration
SiEis Entitlement Benefits:1 Amounts g 9 (Weeks)
Amount High quarter Base period
AL | Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $675 $6,890 N/A $20,670 15-26
Ratio of annual wages to HQW—from less
AK than 1.50 to 3.5 or more $896 $9,620 -11,492 N/A $41,750 16 - 26
AZ | Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $720 $6,240 $5,988 $18,720 12-26
AR | Lesser of 25 x WBA or /s BPW $738 $11,425 $11,882 $34,275 9-25
CA | Lesser of 26 x WBA or %2 BPW $560 $11,700 $11,675 $23,400 14 - 26
$35,412
$11, 804 $9,837 '
(low formula) (low formula) (low formula)
CO | Lesser of 26 x WBA or 5 wage credits in BP $325 $52.000 13-26
$13,000 Not applicable ‘
(high formula) (high formula) (high formula)
CT | N/A: Uniform duration state $300 | $14,808-$16848 | . 54898 $22,920 26
in 2 quarters uniform
DE | Lesser of 26 x WBA or %2 BPW $480 $8,580 N/A $17,160 24-26
DC | Lesser of 26 x WBA or 50% BPW $950 $9,334 $9,334 $18,668 19-26
FL 25% BPW up to $6325 $384 $6,325 $7,150 $25,300 12 - 23°
GA | Lesser of 26 x WBA or ¥4 BPW $264 $8,580 N/A $34,320 6-26*
HI | N/A: Uniform duration state $130 $13,598 $10,963 $13,598 26
uniform
ID Ratio of BPW to HQW--from 1.25 to 3.5 $720 $8,918 $8,918 $31,213 10-26
N/A: Uniform duration state .
IL (Claimants are eligible for the lesser of 25 $1,275 $10,075 - $13,725 N/A $22L,12;r1t36r|2 2 unﬁcgrm
weeks of benefits or their total BP wages) 4
Lesser of 26 x WBA or 28% of BP wage
credits; only specified amount of wages per _
I quarter may be used for computing duration $400 $10,140 $9,250 $36,215 8-26
of benefits: $8,733
Lesser of 26 x WBA or 5 BPW; If laid off
1A due to employer going out of business, ¥ of $646 $10,010 - $12,298 $8,715 $32,952 7-26
wages in BP up to 39 weeks
KS | Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $1,110 $11,544 $10,448 $34,632 10-26
KY | Lesser of 26 x WBA or /5 BPW $585 $10,790 N/A $32,370 15-26
LA N/A: Uniform duration state $260 $6,422 N/A $23,786 2 6
uniform
ME | Lesser of 26 x WBA or !5 BPW $1408 $9,516 - $14,274 N/A $28,548 22-26
$11,180 26
MD N/A: Uniform duration state $650 same maximum $10,296 $15,480 h
; : uniform
with or without DA
Lesser of 30 x WBA or 36% BPW (Reduced
MA | to 26 x WBA all of the local area SMSAs $330 $19,590 - $29,370 N/A $54,417 10-30
unemployment rate <5.1%)
$9,412
Ml 43% BPW $1,638 same with or $8,830 $22,251 14 - 26°
without DA
$10,010 $10,010 $30,030
(based on HQW) (based on HQW) | (based on HQW)
MN | Lesser of 26 x WBA or /s BPW $418 11-26
$15,522 Not applicable $62,088

(based on BPW)

(based on BPW)

(based on BPW)
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TABLE 3-11: BENEFIT ENTITLEMENT AND DURATION OF BENEFITS

Minimum Maximum Potential Benefits
Formula for Calculating Benefit Potential Wage Credits Required Duration
SiEis Entitlement Benefits: Amounts g 9 (Weeks)
1
Amount High quarter Base period
MS | Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $390 $6,110 $6,110 $18,330 13-26
MO | Lesser of 20 x WBA or s BPW $280 $6,400 N/A $19,200 8-20
Ratio of BPW to HQW—from 1.0 to 3.5 or 6
MT greater (See schedule in law) $984 $12,068 N/A $39,699 8-28
NE Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $1289 $9,204 $9,204 $27,612 14-26
NV Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $192 $10,296 $9,900 $30,888 12-26
NH N/A: Uniform duration state $832 $11,102 N/A $41,500 .26
uniform
$15,886
0 )
NJ | Lesser of 26 x WBA or (100% of weeks $1,740 same with or N/A $26,477 1-26
worked in BP x WBA). .
without DA
NM Lesser of 26 x WBA or 60% BPW $1,184 $10,322 - $11,622 $9,647 $17,204 16- 26
NY N/A: Uniform duration state $1,664 $10,530 $10,517 $15,776 uni?‘grm
NC (BPW / HQW) x 8% $585 $13,572 $13,572 $40,716 13-26
ND | Ratio of BPW to HQW—from 1.5 to 3.2 $516 $12,220 N/A $65,175 12-26
Lesser of 26 x WBA or 20 x WBA+ WBA for $20.800
OH | each qualifying week in excess of 20 up to a $2,220 $10,400 - $14,014 N/A - ! 20-26
. in 26 weeks
maximum of 26 weeks.
Lesser of 26 x WBA or a variable percentage
OK | of the state’s AAW for the 2™ preceding year $288 $7,700 $8,464 $19,1007 18- 26
depending upon the conditional factor in place
OR Lesser of 26 x WBA or 4 BPW $354 $13,182 N/A $40,560 3-26
An individual with at least 18 credit weeks is
eligible for 26 weeks; with at least 16 credit
PA weeks, 16 weeks. A credit week is one in $560 $14,898 - $15,106 $14,898 $22,840 16 or 26
which claimant earned at least $50
PR N/A: Uniform duration state $182 $3,458 $3,458 $5,320 .26
uniform
RI Lesser of 26 x WBA or 36% BPW $544 $14,716 - $18,382 $12,252 $40,878 8-26
SC Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $546 $6,520 $8,476 $19,560 13-20
SD Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $420 $8,398 $8,398 $25,194 15-26
TN Lesser of 26 x WBA or ¥4 BPW $390 $7,150 N/A $28,600 13-26
X Lesser of 26 x WBA or 27% BPW $610 $11,076 $10,638 $41,023 10-26
uT 27% BPW $250 $12,142 $12,272 $44,971 10-26
VT | Lesser of 26 x WBA or 46% BPW $1,768 $11,050 N/A $19,125 .
VA 26 x WBA (see table in law) $648 $9,828 N/A >$37,800 12-26
VI Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $429 $12,844 $12,844 $38,532 13-26
WA Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $138 $15,158 N/A $45,474 1-26
WV | N/A: Uniform duration state $624 $11,024 N/A $40,150 2 6
uniform
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TABLE 3-11: BENEFIT ENTITLEMENT AND DURATION OF BENEFITS

Minimum Maximum Potential Benefits
Formula for Calculating Benefit Potential : ; Duration
State : e Wage Credits Required
Entitlement Benefltsi Amounts? (Weeks)
Amount High quarter Base period
Wi Lesser of 26 x WBA or 40% BPW $756 $9,438 $9,075 $23,595 14 - 26°
WY | Lesser of 26 x WBA or 30% BPW $352 $11,544 $11,100 $38,480 11-26

GENERAL NOTE: Since the high quarter and base period wage requirements for the minimum duration of the minimum weekly benefit amount are
the same as the wage and employment requirements to qualify for benefits, they are not repeated in this table. (See Table 3-3.) Some states will
extend duration under certain circumstances; see chapter 4 for additional information. Additionally, in states where the benefit entitlement is

calculated using multi-quarter, annual wage, or average weekly wage formulas the high quarter cell is shown as N/A as no specific level of wages is
required to exist in the high quarter pursuant to state law.

! Minimum potential benefit amounts shown in this table are calculated by multiplying the minimum weekly benefit amount by the minimum
duration; claimant may qualify for additional benefits based upon minimum monetary eligibility requirements.

2 When 2 amounts are given, higher amount includes dependents’ allowance.

3 Maximum duration is 12 weeks if unemployment rate is < 5 percent; an additional week is added for each .5 percent increment if rate is above 5
percent; 23 week maximum if unemployment rate is > 10.5 percent.

4 Effective July 1, 2012, duration changes to 14-20 weeks, based on the unemployment rate.

® Maximum duration changes to 20 weeks effective January 15, 2012.

® To qualify for 28 weeks, individual’s ratio of total base period wages to HQ wages must be at least 3.5.

"The BPW can be comprised of both insured and non-insured wages. To be eligible for the maximum WBA, only $8,464 of the $19,100 of BPW
must be taxable.

8 with some limited exceptions, individuals with significant ownership interest in family partnerships, LLCs and corporations, and certain members
of their families, are limited to 4 weeks of regular Ul benefits.

SEASONAL EMPLOYMENT AND BENEFITS

Special provisions are found in several states’ laws restricting the payment of benefits to individuals
who earned some or a substantial part of their base-period wages for employers whose operations take place
only during certain seasons of the year.

In these provisions, the term seasonal is defined - either in the statute or in the rules or regulations
implementing the statute - in terms of:

« the industry, employer, or occupation involved,;

« the wages earned during the operating period of the employer or industry; and

o the individual.

In most states, the designation of seasonal industries, occupations, or employers and the beginning and
ending dates of their seasons is made in accordance with a formal procedure, following action initiated by the Ul
agency or upon application by the employers or individuals involving hearings and presentation of supporting

data. Arkansas law provides that any employer classified as a seasonal employer may request not to be treated
as a seasonal employer.

In other states, a seasonal pursuit, industry, or employer is defined as one in which, because of climatic
conditions or the seasonal nature of the employment, it is customary to operate only during a regularly recurring
period or periods of less than a specified number of weeks: 16 weeks in Massachusetts; 26 weeks in Colorado;
26 weeks in Indiana; 26 weeks in Maine (except for seasonal lodging facilities, variety store or trading post,

restaurants, and camps, where a period of less than 26 weeks applies); 26 weeks in Michigan; 26 weeks in Ohio;
and 36 weeks in North Carolina.

In general, the restrictions on the payment of benefits to individuals employed during the operating
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periods of these seasonal industries fall into one of two groups.

1. The most frequent restriction provides that wage credits earned in seasonal employment are available
for payment of benefits only for weeks of unemployment in the benefit year that fall within the operating period
of the employer or industry where they were earned. Wage credits earned in non-seasonal work or in
employment with a seasonal employer outside the operating period are available for payment of benefits at any
time in the benefit year. The states with this type of provision are listed in the following table, together with the
definitions of “seasonal worker” to whom the restrictions apply.

TABLE 3-12: SEASONAL WAGE CREDITS AVAILABLE ONLY DURING SEASON

Off-season wages of (a) less than 30 times the
weekly benefit amount, if individual's seasonal
wages were earned in an industry with an

For employment in transient lodging only;
no benefits based on seasonal wages

Some seasonal wages

AR | operating period of 2-6 months; or (b) less than AZ - - . CO | in operating period of
. . : during the off-season if unemployment is -
24 times the weekly benefit amount, if seasonal - - - seasonal industry
. h ’ due to substantial slowdown in operations
wages were earned in an industry with an
operating period of 7-8 months
Some seasonal wages in operating period of Some seasonal wages in operating period $ome sea}sonal Wages
IN ME MA | in operating period of
seasonal employer or seasonal employer -
seasonal industry
Off-season wages of (a) less than 30 times
the weekly benefit amount, if individual's
seasonal wages were earned in a cotton
S - 0
Wages must be within seasonal period of 26 ginning mdustry or pr'ofessnonal baseba.ll 25 A> or more of base _
. : with an operating period of 6-26 weeks; or period wages earned in
MI | weeks or less. Designation of employment as MS : ; NC . .
. (b) less than 24 times the weekly benefit operating period of
seasonal is voluntary - h
amount, if seasonal wages were earned in a seasonal employer
cotton ginning industry or professional
baseball with an operating period of 27-36
weeks
Seasonal wages for less than 180 days of s .
. . . ; ; ; - ome wages earned in
Some seasonal wages earned in operating work in operating period. Applies only if . :
OH . PA SD | operating period of
period of seasonal employer reasonable assurance of reemployment
. seasonal employer
exists
2. Other states have established differing seasonal provisions, which are listed in the following table.
TABLE 3-13: OTHER SEASONAL PROVISIONS
DE Individual with 75% or more of base period earnings in seasonal employment — defined as the processing of agricultural or seafood
products - will be eligible only if the individual had been employed in the corresponding month of the base period
WV Individual working less than 100 days in seasonal employment is not eligible unless the individual has non-seasonal employment
earnings of at least $100
Wi Individual working less than 90 days for a seasonal employer is not eligible unless the individual is paid wages of $500 or more by at

least one other employer

DEDUCTIONS AND WITHHOLDING FROM BENEFITS

Under Federal law, Ul must be paid to an individual as a matter of right and may not be intercepted to
satisfy debts or other obligations. However, Federal law provides some exceptions to this requirement and these
are discussed in the following text.

OVERPAYMENTS—AII states reduce Ul otherwise payable to recover earlier overpayments of Ul. See

Chapter 6 for more information on this topic.

CHILD SUPPORT—TFederal law requires states to deduct child support obligations from Ul only when the
obligations are enforced by the state child support agency.
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OVERISSUANCES OF FOOD STAMPS—If the individual owes an uncollected overissuance of Food
Stamps, states may deduct such amount from Ul benefits payable. The following table indicates which state
laws provide for these deductions. However, not all of these states necessarily make these deductions; it
depends on whether the state Ul and Food Stamp agencies have entered into agreements.

TABLE 3-14: STATES WITH AUTHORITY TO DEDUCT FOOD STAMP OVERISSUANCES

State State State State State State State State
AL X AK AZ X AR X CA (6{0] X CT DE [ X
DC FL GA X HI X ID IL X IN 1A X
KS X KY LA X ME X MD MA X Ml MN
MS MO X MT X NE X NV NH X NJ X NM | X
NY X NC ND OH OK X OR PA PR
RI SC SD X TN X X X uT X VT X VI X
VA X WA WV Wi WY X

INCOME TAX—Federal law requires states to offer individuals the opportunity to voluntarily have Federal
income tax withheld from Ul benefits at the rate of 10 percent. Federal law also permits states to withhold state
and local income tax from Ul benefits. The following table indicates which states offer individuals the
opportunity to have state (and/or local) income taxes withheld.

TABLE 3-15: WITHHOLDING STATE AND LOCAL INCOME TAX AT CLAIMANT OPTION

State | State | Local | State | State | Local | State | State | Local | State | State | Local State State Local
AZ X CO X CT X X DE X X DC X X
GA X HI X Xt ID X IL X 1A X

KS X X KY X ME X X MD X MA X

Mi X2 MN X MS X X NE X NH X X
NM X X NY X X NC X ND X OK X2

OR X RI X SC X TN X uT X

VT X? wv X wi X

! Local income taxes deducted and withheld from the individual's Ul for other states and localities.
2 1f Federal taxes are elected to be withheld from Ul benefits, then state taxes will be withheld as well.

HEALTHCARE COVERAGE—IIlinois and Oklahoma law authorize the deduction of health insurance
premiums from the Ul weekly benefit amount if the individual so elects, provided that the state has an approved
health care plan for unemployed individuals. However, neither state has implemented this authority.
Massachusetts has a health insurance program for unemployed individuals; however, it is unrelated to the Ul
program.
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