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ALASKA SB 170    ENACTED May 25, 2009 
  (CH 27)   EFFECTIVE May 25, 2009, or as noted 
   
Coverage   
 
Amends the definition of “employing unit” to include service performed for an Indian tribe, 
resulting in unemployment insurance coverage of such services and to exclude coverage of 
certain services. 
 
Excludes from the definition of “employment” service performed in the employ of a federally 
recognized tribe in Alaska if performed in the exercise of duties an as officer of the federally 
recognized tribe and meets the requirements of Federal law.   
 
Allows an Indian tribe to either pay contributions or to elect to make reimbursements.  (Election 
of reimbursements payments is effective January 1 after effective date of this act.) 
 
May require an Indian tribe that elects to make reimbursement to execute and file a surety bond 
or deposit money or securities. 
 
Under certain circumstances, terminates the reimbursement election when a tribe fails to make 
the required payments until a time provided by the department. 
 
Requires extended benefits not reimbursed by the Federal government to be financed in their 
entirety by the Indian tribe.  
 
Monetary Entitlement
 
Provides that if individuals would not be eligible for benefits because of use of a base period 
consisting of the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters then their eligibility will be 
determined using a base period that includes the 4 most recently completed calendar quarters 
before the start of the benefit year.  (Effective as of January 1, 2010.) 
 
(Note:  Alaska SB 170 was reprinted in this report because the summary in Report 4 did not 
contain the Monetary Entitlement paragraph.) 
 
CALIFORNIA AB 23c  ENACTED and EFFECTIVE March 27, 2009 
   (CH 22) 
 



Extensions and Special Programs
 
Provides for the optional extended benefits (EB) “on” indicator based on the seasonally adjusted 
total unemployment rate (TUR).  Provides for up to 13 weeks of EB if the average TUR for the 
most recent 3 months is at least 6.5 percent and is 110 percent of the rate for the corresponding 
3-month period in either or both of the 2 previous years.  Provides for up to an additional 7 
weeks of EB if the state is in a high unemployment period.  (The average TUR is at least 8 
percent and is 110 percent of the rate for the corresponding 3-month period in either or both of 
the 2 previous years.)  
 
Effective for weeks of unemployment beginning on or after February 1, 2009, and continuing 
until the week ending 3 weeks prior to the last week for which the Federal government pays 100 
percent of most EB costs. 
 
Provides that the 100 percent Federal government payment of EB costs is not applicable to 
reimbursable entities. 
 
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA B 187   ENACTED April 27, 2009 
   (Law No. 180024) EFFECTIVE July 7, 2009 
 
Extensions and Special Programs
 
Provides for the optional extended benefits (EB) “on” indicator based on the seasonally adjusted 
total unemployment rate (TUR).  Provides for up to 13 weeks of EB if the average TUR for the 
most recent 3 months is at least 6.5 percent and is 110 percent of the rate for the corresponding 
3-month period in either or both of the 2 previous years.  Provides for up to an additional 7 
weeks of EB if the state is in a high unemployment period.  (The average TUR is at least 8 
percent and is 110 percent of the rate for the corresponding 3-month period in either or both of 
the 2 previous years.)  
 
Effective for weeks of unemployment beginning March 15, 2009.  Provision ceases to be 
effective either for weeks of unemployment commencing on December 6, 2009, or such other 
week as the Congress may specify in any amendments to American Recovery and Reinvestment 
Act of 2009, whichever is later. 
 
The provision of this act shall expire February 17, 2010. 
 
HAWAII SB 947      ENACTED April 30, 2009 

(Act No. 32)     EFFECTIVE June 9, 2005  
 
Financing 
 
Changes the effective date for the experience record calculation when an employing unit 
transfers its organization, trade or business to another employing unit to be the calendar year 
immediately following the date of the transfer of the organization, trade or business (was 
effective the calendar quarter immediately following the transfer).    



 
INDIANA  HB 1379    ENACTED May 13, 2009 

(CH 30)    EFFECTIVE May 13, 2009,  
      except as otherwise indicated 

 
Administration 
 
Establishes an Unemployment Insurance (UI) Oversight Committee to oversee implementation 
of legislation and administration of UI program and make recommendations for improvement.  
Defines membership of the committee and appropriates general fund money for operation of the 
committee.   
 
By September 30, 2009, the commissioner must: 

• Examine the costs of implementing changes to eligibility and other requirements in  order 
for the state to quality for the maximum amount available under the American Recovery 
and Reinvestment Act of 2009; 

• Compare the cost determined above to the maximum amount available to the state as a 
result of making the changes; 

• Initiate the changes above unless it is determined that a negative fiscal impact outweighs 
the benefits of the amount available and the expansion and other eligibility requirements 
of the state’s system. 

• Submit an electronic report to the legislative council, the committee, the speaker of the 
house of representatives and the president pro tempore of the senate. 

The report must provide the following:  
• Details of the commissioner’s actions or decision not to initiate changes; 
• Recommendations for any legislation necessary to modify the state’s system in order to 

qualify for the amount available under the Recovery Act; 
• An analysis of the fiscal impact to the fund of the commissioner’s actions or decision not 

to initiate change and any legislation recommended. 
This section expires July 1, 2011. 
  
Provides that the department may charge a fee of up to $2 for each record that provides 
information about an individual’s last known employer released in compliance with a court 
order. 
 
Effective July 1, 2009, requires written notice to the employer after a determination of eligibility.  
Notice must include time by which the employer must respond, complete information on the 
rules of evidence and standards of proof that the department will apply to determine the validity 
of the claim if the employer disputes the claim.   
 
Establishes an unemployment claims compliance center no later than January 1, 2010. 
Provides that claims must be referred to the compliance center for investigation when 
information provided by the individual does not match information from the separating 
employer.   
 



Establishes the Hoosier Workers First Training Program to improve manufacturing productivity 
levels, enable firms to become competitive, create and retain jobs, encourage training, and avoid 
payment of unemployment compensation by providing enhanced job skills.  The department 
shall administer the program and report on the fund annually.   
 
Appeals
 
Effective July 1, 2009, provides for annual training of all administrative law judges, review 
board members and other individuals who adjudicate claims concerning: 

• Unemployment compensation law; 
• Rules for the conduct of hearings and appeals; and 
• Rules of conduct during a hearing and other adjudicative process. 

 
Provides that the department monitor hearings and decisions to ensure that the hearings and 
decisions strictly comply with the law and the rules of conduct.  An individual who does not 
strictly comply with the law and the rules, including rules of conduct, is subject to disciplinary 
action up to and including suspension or termination. 
 
Requires employer notification of transfer of hearing to the review board prior to determination 
or action concerning a claim.  Requires notice of hearing to include complete information about 
the rules of evidence and standards of proof that will be used to determine the validity of a claim.  
An employer must be supplied with information necessary to the proper presentation of a matter 
before the hearing (previously the law required it for claimant only). 
 
Coverage 
 
Effective July 1, 2009, expands the definition of employing unit to include limited liability 
partnerships.  Provides that 2 or more entities who concurrently employ the same individual and 
utilize a common paymaster are an employing unit.  Expands the definition of employment to 
include service performed for certain entities including limited liability partnerships.  
 
Extensions and Special Programs 
 
Provides for the optional extended benefits (EB) “on” indicator based on the seasonally adjusted 
total unemployment rate (TUR).  Provides for up to 13 weeks of EB if the average TUR for the 
most recent 3 months is at least 6.5 percent and is 110 percent of the rate for the corresponding 
3-month period in either or both of the 2 previous years.  Provides for up to an additional 7 
weeks of EB if the state is in a high unemployment period.  (The average TUR is at least 8 
percent and is 110 percent of the rate for the corresponding 3-month period in either or both of 
the 2 previous years.)  
 
Effective for weeks of unemployment beginning on or after May 13, 2009.  Provision ceases to 
be effective either on December 5, 2009, or at the end of the week ending 4 weeks prior to the 
last week for which the Federal government pays 100 percent of most EB costs, whichever is 
later.)   
 



For weeks of unemployment beginning after February 17, 2009, and before January 1, 2010, 
defines the eligibility period for extended compensation to include any week that begins after the 
date the individual exhausts all rights to EUC during an EB period. 
 
Financing
 
Effective July 1, 2009, provides for a transfer to the unemployment insurance benefit fund of the 
amount by which the balance in the special employment and training services fund exceeds 
$8,500,000. 
 
Provides for the establishment of the Hoosier worker’s first training fund to administer the costs 
of the Hoosier works first training program, undertake any program activity that furthers the 
purpose of the program, and obtain all information necessary to determine qualifications for a 
grant and allocate money in the fund. 
 
Provides that the employer’s experience account must be charged 50 percent of the benefits paid 
if the employer did not provide information and the individual was later determined to be 
ineligible.  If the employee repays all or part of the benefits on which determination is based, the 
employer must receive a credit equal to the amount of the repayment.  If the employee repays 
benefits, the employer must receive a credit equal to the amount repaid by the employee up to the 
amount charged to the employer’s experience account. 
 
Increases the taxable wage base to $9,500 during a calendar year beginning after December 31, 
2009 (previously $7,000).   
 
Effective July 1, 2009, modifies the definition of “payment in lieu of contributions” to include 
extended benefits not reimbursed by the Federal government (previously half of EB costs).   
 
Requires employers to pay contributions equal to 12 percent of wages after December 31, 2009, 
except as otherwise provided.  Effective after December 31, 2009. 
 
Provides that employers making payments in lieu of contributions will be charged for benefits 
not reimbursed by the Federal government under EB.    
 
Establishes new employer rate of 2.5 percent for each CY after December 31, 2009.  For state or 
political subdivisions of the state, employer contribution rate is raised to 1.6 percent (from 1 
percent) after December 31, 2009. 
 
After December 31, 2009, in addition to other conditions and requirements, raises the rate to 12 
percent (previously 5.6 percent) for employers who fail to file required contribution and wage 
reports within 31 days following the computation date, and who fail to pay all contributions, 
penalties, and interest due and owing by the employer or predecessor before and including the 
computation date within 31 days following the computation date, or within 10 days after written 
notice of delinquency or failure to file, whichever is the later date.  Rate may be waived if the 
employer’s failure to meet deadlines was for excusable cause.  Requires written notice to the 
employer before the additional condition or requirement will apply. 



 
Establishes a new fund ratio schedule and new rate schedules (which include additional 
schedules and different ranges of rates for accounts with credit or debit balances for calendar 
years after December 31, 2009.  Rates range from .75 percent to 10.2 percent for Schedule A 
(previously 1.2 to 5.7 percent) and 0 percent to 5.4 percent for Schedule I (new).   For calendar 
year 2010, Schedule B will be used to assign each employer’s contribution rate.   
 
Adds additional factors related to limited liability partnerships, including a change in the 
percentage used to determine ownership (from at least 80 percent to more than 50 percent) for 
the department to consider when determining whether an employing unit or other person 
acquired a business solely for the purpose of obtaining a lower contribution rate.     
   
Monetary Entitlement
 
Effective on and after January 1, 2010, increases the wage credits required for an individual to 
qualify for benefits to 1.5 (previously 1.25) times the wages in the highest quarter, wage credits 
of $2,500 in the last 2 quarters (previously $1,650), and total base period wages of $4,200 
(previously $2,750). 
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility
 
Effective July 1, 2009, provides that the department may waive certain requirements concerning 
registering for work and reporting for a week when one of the following applies to an individual: 

• attending approved training; 
• job-attached worker with a recall date not more than 60 days after the separation date; 
• using a hiring service, referral service or job placement service determined by the 

department; or 
• Any other situation the department considers inconsistent with the purpose of the article. 

 
Requires the submission of at least one application for work each week an individual claims 
benefits; an online application complies with this requirement.  Effective July 1, 2009. 
 
Provides for a reduced maximum benefit amount for individuals separated from employment 
under disqualifying conditions or who fail to apply for suitable work (amounts rounded to the 
next higher dollar): 

1. 75 percent - first separation/failure to apply; 
2. 85 percent of the amount in 1 - second separation/failure to apply; 
3. 90 percent of the amount in 2 - third and subsequent separation/failure to apply. 

 
Modifies the definition of  “discharge for just cause” to include violation of an employer rule 
regarding attendance or unsatisfactory attendance if the employer does not have an attendance 
rule and the individual cannot show good cause for absences or tardiness. 
 
Changes the definition of “suitable employment” to: 

• Not less than 90 percent of the individual’s prior weekly wage during the fifth through 
eighth week of unemployment; 



• Not less than 80 percent of the prior weekly wage after 8 consecutive weeks of 
unemployment; 

• work is not considered suitable if it pays less than Indiana’s minimum wage. 
 
Effective July 1, 2009, expands the definition of “gross misconduct” to include any of the 
following committed in connection with work, as determined by the department by a 
preponderance of the evidence: 

• Working, or reporting for work, in a state of intoxication caused by individual’s use of 
alcohol or a controlled substance; 

• Battery on another individual while on the employer’s property or during work hours; 
• Theft or embezzlement; 
• Fraud. 

 
Provides that an employer has the burden of proving by a preponderance of the evidence that a 
discharged employee’s conduct was gross misconduct.  The employer may present evidence that 
the employer filled or maintained the position or job held by the discharged employee after the 
employee’s discharge.   
 
Evidence may be presented that a discharged employee’s conduct did not result in prosecution or 
conviction for an offence.  If evidence is presented that an action or requirement of the employer 
may have caused the conduct that is the basis for the discharge, conduct is not gross misconduct.  
Lawful conduct not otherwise prohibited by an employer is not gross misconduct. 
 
MARYLAND  HB 242    ENACTED May 7, 2009 

(CH 383)    EFFECTIVE June 1, 2009 
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility
 
Provides that the same eligibility provision concerning severance/dismissal payments applies 
whether the unemployment resulted or did not result from abolishment of the individual’s job.  
(Previously, separate severance/dismissal payments provisions applied to unemployment 
resulting from abolishment of jobs and unemployment not resulting from abolishment of jobs.)   
Applicable to all claims filed establishing a new benefit on or after June 7, 2009. 
 
MINNESOTA  HB 1362 ENACTED and EFFECTIVE May 14, 2009 
    (CH 79)   
 
Coverage
 
Allows a personal care assistant the option of being the employee of a referring agency or the 
employee of the patient, assuming direction and control exists.   
 
MINNESOTA  SB 1197   ENACTED April 8, 2009 

(CH 15)   EFFECTIVE April 9, 2009 
        or as otherwise indicated 
 



Administration 
 
Provides that the commissioner may accept an applicant certification based upon applicant 
records to issue a determination of benefit account when a wage detail is not yet due and the 
applicant is using an alternate base period effective August 2, 2009. 
 
Requires an employer to provide wage detail information on an applicant within 5 calendar days 
of request when the applicant is using an alternate base period effective August 2, 2009. 
 
Authorizes ARRA funds for unemployment insurance administration and requires interpretation 
of changes to be consistent with ARRA requirements for incentive payments. 
 
Monetary Entitlement
 
Effective August 2, 2009, defines the primary base period is defined as the last 4 completed 
calendar quarters before the effective date of an application, if the application is filed after the 
month following the last completed calendar quarter.   Defines the secondary base period as the 
first 4 of the last completed 5 calendar quarters before the effective date of an application, if the 
application is filed during the month following the last completed calendar quarter.   
 
Effective for unemployment benefits filed on or after August 2, 2009, provides that an alternate 
base period of the last 4 completed calendar quarters before the effective date of an application 
will be used if the applicant has insufficient wage credits using the secondary base period. 
 
Provides that an applicant must have wage credits in the high quarter of $1,000 or more to 
establish a benefit account using the secondary base period, effective for unemployment benefits 
filed on or after August 2, 2009.   
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility
 
Defines immediate family member to mean applicant’s spouse, parent, step-parent, son or 
daughter, stepson or stepdaughter, or grandson or granddaughter. 
 
Modifies the definition of “reemployment assistance training” and provides that  
apprenticeship training is considered “reemployment assistant training.” 
 
Effective August 2, 2009, modifies the definition of suitable employment and specifies that full 
time employment is not considered suitable employment for an applicant if a majority of the 
applicant’s weeks of employment in the base period includes part-time employment.   
 
Unless an applicant is in reemployment assistance training, requires that a student who has 
regularly scheduled classes be willing to discontinue classes to accept suitable employment when 
class attendance restricts applicant from accepting suitable employment and the applicant cannot 
change the scheduled class or make other arrangements.    
 
Effective August 2, 2009, expands eligibility for applicants who quit employment to include: 



• An applicant who quit employment in order to provide necessary care because of the 
illness, injury, or disability of an immediate family member of the applicant if the 
applicant informs the employer of the medical problem and no reasonable 
accommodation is available; 

• Domestic abuse of the applicant or an immediate family member of the applicant; 
• Relocation to accompany a spouse whose job location changed making it impractical for 

the applicant to commute. 
 
Effective August 2, 2009, provides that misconduct shall not include: 

• Conduct that was a consequence of applicant’s mental illness or impairment; 
• Absence, with proper notice to the employer, to provide necessary care to immediate 

family member because of illness, injury or disability; 
• Conduct as a result of domestic violence to the applicant or immediate family. 

 
Provides that conduct involving only a single incident is an important fact that must be 
considered in deciding whether it rises to the level of misconduct violating the employer’s 
standards of behavior, effective August 2, 2009. 
 
MINNESOTA  SB 643    ENACTED April 27, 2009 
    (CH 25)   EFFECTIVE April 28, 2009 
         
Extensions and Special Programs 
 
Provides that unemployment benefits are payable to an employee in the WIRED program in 
proportion to the amount of the worker’s reduced hours as though the employee were qualified 
under the shared work program.  The training program must be contained in a written plan 
signed by an officer of the employer and the commissioner (or designee) of employment and 
economic development.  Expires June 30, 2011. 
 
MISSOURI  HB 1075   ENACTED June 12, 2009 
       EFFECTIVE June 12, 2009 or as noted 
 
Administration
 
Provides that both the training program and compelling family reason provisions will not take 
effect and no benefits paid unless first certified by the U.S. Department of Labor under Federal 
law amended by the Recovery Act of 2009. 
 
Provides that both the training program and compelling family reason provisions will be subject 
to renewal in the second regular session and, if not renewed, must expire once the funds provided 
under the Recovery Act of 2009 are expended. 
 
Extensions and Special Programs
 
Provides for the optional extended benefits (EB) “on” indicator based on the seasonally adjusted 
total unemployment rate (TUR).  Provides for up to 13 weeks of EB if the average TUR for the 



most recent 3 months is at least 6.5 percent and is 110 percent of the rate for the corresponding 
3-month period in either or both of the 2 previous years.  Provides for up to an additional 7 
weeks of EB if the state is in a high unemployment period.  (The average TUR is at least 8 
percent and is 110 percent of the rate for the corresponding 3-month period in either or both of 
the 2 previous years.)  
 
The TUR provision is effective for weeks of unemployment beginning on or after February 1, 
2009, and ending on or before December 5, 2009. 
 
Provides that all individuals who have exhausted all rights to regular unemployment 
compensation, and who are enrolled in and making satisfactory progress in a state-approved 
training program or in a training program authorized under the Workforce Investment Act of 
1998, will be entitled to an additional amount of benefits equal to 26 times their average weekly 
benefit amount for the most recent benefit year.  These training benefits will be paid after any 
extended benefits or any similar benefits paid by a federally funded program.   
 
Priority for training funds under the above training provision must be given to claimants laid off 
through no fault of their own from Missouri automobile manufacturing facilities. 
 
Financing
 
Removes the language providing that the unpaid principal amount of any outstanding credit 
instruments, combined with the unpaid principal amount of any financing agreement entered into 
will not exceed $450 million at any time.  Removes all other language referring to the $450 
million limit on borrowing from credit instruments including interest. 
 
Requires the director to separately track payments made under the training program and 
compelling family reason provision.  When payments exceed the amount of federal incentive 
funds available because of the enactment of the training program and the compelling family 
reason provision, the unemployment compensation fund must be reimbursed from general 
revenue for all subsequent payments to the claimants. 
 
Noncharges an employer’s account for benefits paid under the provision regarding separation for 
a compelling family reason. 
 
Noncharges an employer’s account for benefits paid under the above-mentioned training 
program. 
 
Monetary Entitlement
 
Provides that if individuals would not be eligible for benefits because of use of a base period 
consisting of the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters, then their eligibility must be 
determined using an alternate base period (ABP) that includes the last 4 completed calendar 
quarters.  If wage information for the most recent quarter of the ABP is unavailable, eligibility 
determination may be based on the claimant’s affidavit and required payroll documentation. 
Eligibility determination based on the ABP must be amended if the quarterly wage report is 



timely received and such information causes a change in the determination.  No calendar quarter 
in a base period or ABP used in the current benefit year will be used to establish a subsequent 
benefit year. 
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility
 
Provides that individuals will not be disqualified from receiving benefits due to separation from 
employment if that separation is for a compelling family reason.  Compelling family reason 
means: 
  

• the illness or disability of a member of the individuals’ immediate family, including 
spouse, parent, or minor child under 18 years old; 

• the need for individuals to accompany their spouse to a place from which it is impractical 
for them to commute and due to a change in location of the spouse’s employment; or  

• domestic violence verified by documentation which causes individuals to reasonable 
believe continued employment would jeopardize their or any immediate family member’s 
safety. 

 
OREGON  HB 2201  ENACTED and EFFECTIVE May 5, 2009 
   (CH 79) 
 
Coverage
 
Changes the effective date of the election to exclude from coverage corporate officers and 
directors who are family members from the first day of the calendar quarter in which the request 
was submitted to the first day of the current calendar quarter or of the calendar quarter preceding 
the calendar quarter in which the request was submitted.  (Applicable to elections of coverage by 
corporations occurring on or after January 1, 2010.)  
 
Financing  
  
Provides that if an employer defaults on any required payment due the Unemployment 
Compensation Trust Fund, a person who is an officer or employee of a corporation, a member or 
employee of a limited liability company, or a partner in or employee of a limited liability 
partnership is personally liable for such amounts due.  A notice of assessment must be issued to 
the liable person, and if that liable person is insolvent, a jeopardy assessment may be issued.  
Amounts assessed may be reviewed in the manner provided in the unemployment compensation 
law. 
 
WASHINGTON SB 5009    ENACTED April 10, 2009 
 (CH 50)    EFFECTIVE July 25, 2009 
 
Financing 
 
Allows for relief of charges for benefits if they result from payment to an individual who was 
hired to replace an employee who is a member of the military reserves or National Guard when 



they were called to active duty and was subsequently laid off when that employee is reemployed 
upon release from active duty. 
 
WEST VIRGINIA SB 246   ENACTED and EFFECTIVE May 11, 2009 
   (CH 218)  
 
Administration 
 
Requires the Executive Director to establish an employer violator system to identify individuals 
and employers who are in default to the fund.   
 
Financing
 
Defines the term “average annual wage” to mean the state’s average annual wage which is 
computed on or before September 30 of the year immediately preceding the rate year and is the 
total remuneration paid by employers as reported on contribution reports on or before that date 
with respect to all employment during the 4 consecutive calendar quarters ending on June 30 of 
that year divided by the average monthly number of individuals performing services in 
employment during the same 4 calendar quarters as reported on the contribution reports. 
 
Defines the term “threshold wage” (also referred to as the taxable wage base) to mean the wage 
amount the employer pays unemployment taxes on for each person in his or her employ during a 
calendar year.  Effective May 11, 2009, increases the threshold wage from $8,000 to $12,000; 
provided that when the moneys in the unemployment fund reach $220 million on February 15 of 
any year, the taxable wage base, thereafter, will be reduced to $9,000; provided however, that 
each year thereafter the taxable wage base will increase or decrease by the same percentage that 
the state’s average wage increases or decreases. 
 
Monetary Entitlement 
 
Defines “alternative base period” to mean the last 4 completed calendar quarters immediately 
preceding the first day of the individual’s benefit year. 
 
Provides that to be eligible for benefits under the alternative base period, individuals must not be 
eligible under their regular base period and must within the alternative base period been paid 
wages for employment equal to at least $2,200 and earned wages in at least 2 quarters of the 
alternative base period. 
 
Defines “alternative base period employer” and “alternative base period wages.”  
 
Requires the commissioner not to increase or decrease the maximum weekly benefit rate for the 
period beginning on May 11, 2009, until the taxable wage base is reduced to $9,000, as required 
in the unemployment compensation (UC) law. 
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility
 



Provides that individuals will not be deemed to have left recent work voluntarily without good 
cause involving fault on the part of the employer if compelled to leave for health related reasons 
and notifies the employer prior to leaving the job or within 2 business days after leaving the job 
or as soon as practicable and presents written certification from a licensed physician within 30 
days of leaving the job that their work aggravated, worsened or will worsen the individual’s 
health problem.  (Previously, provision did not require:  (1) notifying the employer prior to 
leaving the job or within 2 business days after leaving the job or as soon as practicable and (2) 
the certification be in writing and submitted within 30 days of leaving the job.) 
 
Changes from an individual being disqualified for misconduct to being disqualified for gross 
misconduct.  Changes the disqualification provision for being discharged for gross misconduct to 
include reporting to work under the influence of any controlled substance, as defined in the UC 
law without a valid prescription, or being under the influence of any controlled substance as 
defined in the UC law without a valid prescription, while at work; adulterating or otherwise 
manipulating a sample or specimen in order to thwart a drug or alcohol test lawfully required of 
an employee; refusal to submit to random testing for alcohol or illegal controlled substances for 
employees in safety sensitive positions as defined in the UC law. 
 
Provides that an individual will be disqualified for benefits for accepting an early retirement 
incentive package, unless he or she:  (i) establishes a well-grounded fear of imminent layoff 
supported by definitive objective facts involving fault on the part of the employer; and (ii) 
establishes that he or she would suffer a substantial loss by not accepting the early retirement 
incentive package. 

 
 


